Awards and Honors: 2012

Photo of Shimi Rii. C-MORE graduate student Yoshimi Rii was recently selected as an inaugural recipient of the Denise B. Evans Graduate Fellowship in Oceanography. This fellowship, administrated by the Hawai‘i Institute of Geophysics and Planetology (HIGP) at the University of Hawai‘i, provides 2 years of graduate assistantship support for Shimi to pursue her Ph.D. research in the Department of Oceanography. Shimi’s research focuses on spatial and temporal variability in the population dynamics (abundance, diversity, and activity) of photosynthetic picoeukaryotes in the open sea. She has participated in various C-MORE cruises (BiG RAPA, HOE DYLAN) and remains a regular participant in Hawaii Ocean Time-series (HOT) program cruises to Station ALOHA. In addition, Shimi is an active member of the local community, including serving as a high school science mentor and volunteering as an Assistant Coach for the Honolulu Special Olympics Track and Field team. Congratulations to Shimi for well deserved recognition of her hard work and academic achievements.


Photo of Brenner Wai. C-MORE graduate student Brenner Wai was awarded a position in the Native Hawaiian Science & Engineering Mentorship Program (NHSEMP). This program’s mission is to provide assistance, opportunities, and community for students to excel in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics. The program was developed through the College of Engineering at the Univeristy of Hawai‘i and provides scholars with academic and financial support, in addition to peer and professional networking and mentoring. As part of his award, Brenner will participate in community service designed to benefit the Native Hawaiian community and serve as an advocate and role model for Native Hawaiian students working in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math fields. Congratulations to Brenner for receiving this distinction.


Photo of Ed DeLong. Note from the Director:
On 3 October 2012, Ed DeLong received the 2012 Outstanding Alumni Award (PDF) given by the College of Biological Sciences, University of California at Davis, his alma mater! This is a terrific honor and distinction, but also one that is well earned. Ed has been at the forefront of several of our discipline's most important discoveries over the past decades from the discovery of plankton archaea, to the ecophysiology of rhopdopsin, to his pioneering roles in the marine genomics and transcriptomics revolutions. He is still a young fellow, so we can expect even more in the coming years. Please join me in raising a toast to Ed for a job well done. DMK


Photo of Sandra Martinez-Garcia. Dr. Sandra Martinez Garcia, a C-MORE postdoc headquartered at the University of Hawai‘i, has just been awarded a 2-year Fulbright Visiting Scholar Fellowship. As many of you know, the Fulbright Program — founded by and named in honor of U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright — is a competitive, merit-based program for the international exchange of scholars from all fields of study. The Fulbright program began in 1946 and currently operates in 155 countries. Sandra’s Fellowship was made possible through the Fulbright Commission in Spain and the Ministry of Education, in conjunction with the U.S.-based Institute of Education. Previous Fellows include 18 current or former heads of government worldwide, 78 Pulitzer Prize winners and 43 Nobel Laureates, so the bar is set very high. Congratulations to Sandra.


Photo of Angelicque White Dr. Angelicque White, a C-MORE investigator headquartered at Oregon State University, has just received a 2-year Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Early Career Fellowship. This prestigious award is given to select individuals in recognition of distinguished performance and unique potential for substantial contributions in the future. Although the Research Fellowship program began in 1955, it has grown over the years to include an increasing number of disciplines that the Foundation believes are fundamental to science and society. This was the first year that Fellows were named in 'oceanography' so it is very nice to see a true pioneer in the C-MORE family of outstanding scholars. With this recognition comes the 'burden' of great potential, one that I am sure Angelicque will handle with the same 'can do' attitude that she displays in all life's endeavors. But remember, 38 Sloan Research Fellows have gone on to win Nobel Prizes later in their careers, and hundreds have received other academic honors. This should be a very fun career to track! Congratulations to Angelicque.


Photo of Sallie Chisholm. Dr Sallie (aka Penny) Chisholm has been selected to receive the Ruth Patrick Award from the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography. The award cites Penny's “significant contributions to the global community in her foresight and effective efforts in addressing the environmental impacts of ocean iron fertilization which has led to high quality research on iron biogeochemistry and plankton dynamics as well as the development of key policies through the International Maritime Organization and UN Convention on Biodiversity.” The award will be given at the annual meeting in Feb. John Cullen, one of our distinguished C-MORE summer faculty, will also receive the award jointly with Penny. Congratulations to Penny and John.


Photo of John Waterbury. Dr John Waterbury is the recipient of the 2012 Gilbert Morgan Smith Medal from the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. John is honored 'for his important discovery and characterization of ecologically important marine microorganisms, setting in motion major advances in our understanding of marine food webs and the cycling of essential elements in ocean ecosystems.' John will receive the award at the annual NAS meeting in May. Congratulations to John.


See also Archived News and Announcements for 20122011201020092008


[ Top of Page ]