Hawaii Ocean Time-series (HOT)
in the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology at the University of Hawai'i

Principle Investigators and Staff



Principal Investigator

Dave Karl Professor of Oceanography
dkarl@hawaii.edu

Technical Staff

Karin Björkman
Karin Björkman
Research Specialist
bjorkman@hawaii.edu

Adenosine 5'-triphosphate, Low-level phosphorus, Primary production
Tara Clemente
Tara Clemente
Field Operations Coordinator
tclement@hawaii.edu

Cruise planning, Particulate phosphorus
Susan Curless
Susan Curless
Research Associate
curless@hawaii.edu

Cruise planning, Inorganic nutrients
Lance A. Fujieki Computer Specialist
fujieki@hawaii.edu

Web Design & Data Management
Eric Grabowski
Eric Grabowski
Research Associate
grabowsk@hawaii.edu

Particulate C/N
Alex Nelson
Alex Nelson
Research Associate
anelson7@hawaii.edu

Inorganic nutrients
Dan Sadler
Dan Sadler
Research Associate
sadler@hawaii.edu

Cruise planning, Carbon chemistry (DIC, Alkalinity, pH, pCO2), PIC
Brenner Wai
Brenner Wai
Research Associate
brenner@hawaii.edu

Low-level nitrogen
Blake Watkins
Blake Watkins
Marine Engineer
blakewat@hawaii.edu